Roaming the Halls of The Stanley Hotel


Over last weekend, we attended Kyle’s family reunion in Grand Lake, nestled in the midst of the Rockies in Colorado. I’ll talk about all that stuff later, but as soon as I heard that Estes Park was only “an hour” away (turns out it was about 1.5 hours away from Grand Lake), I knew we HAD to go. Why? Because that’s where the Stanley Hotel is, and we all know that I’m a real sucker for tourist attractions…especially the old, creepy kind.

There’s not much to say about this experience, besides the fact that Kyle and I “snuck” into the hotel via one of the many open back doors and roamed its halls for about half an hour. There were some tours going on, but when we managed to escape the crowds, which was all too easy, being alone was definitely and downright creepy, spooky, unsettling, and any other term you can think of. It also didn’t help that Kyle took advantage of my vulnerability and tried to scare me in various ways: hiding around a corner to jump out at me, whispering creepy things into my ear, saying “redrum” in a childish and almost demonic voice while bending his index finger…you know, the like.

Anyway, check out some of the photos I took in and around The Stanley Hotel. It’s almost like they are straight out of a movie…

Just above the grand staircase.

The bottom right picture is room 217, which Stephen King stayed in and is used directly in the novel The Shining.

Have you ever been to the Stanley Hotel?

What infamous movie locations have you visited?

Leave a Reply

